The SUBTLE ART of WAFFLES (aka ABS)

“Life is like riding a bicycle,

To keep your balance, you must keep moving.”

Albert Einstein

Since completing the Dietetic Internship, I have attempted to check off everything on my year long bucket list I made. Things like Disneyland, Harry Potter World, reading, recipe development, and upgrade/expand my blog and brand. I didn’t realize how hard it would be to attempt all this in a month before starting the Dietitian job I accepted. Especially Disneyland and Harry Potter World……I just want a Butter Beer and to ride “It’s A Small World” but alas God has other plans.

However reading books, recipe development, and upgrading/expanding my blog is something I can do and slowly (at a snails pace) getting them done. I have successfully done two second recipes, whoop whoop. Like I said snail pace. However, I am killin’ the reading game right now. Currently, I am reading ‘The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life’ by Mark Manson. Basically every word, sentence, paragraph and chapter is a TRUTH BOMB. Do yo’ self a favor and get this book NOW!!!!! After venturing through my second ‘100 Happy Day’ Posts for Instagram – I have been determined to keep this Happy Day theme on rolling. Hence the quote from Einstein, to keep the balance in life you must keep moving. And I intend on moving onward and upward in life. Yet, I realize that not everyday is filled with unicorns and rainbows and I know I put so much focus on things that I may not be able to fix or change. This may be detrimental to me in the long run. Hence deciding to read ‘The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck’. The first TRUTH BOMB from the book is: Wanting positive experience is a negative experience; accepting negative experience is a positive experience. As I learned from the book Mindset, when we accept negative experiences or when we fail it opens us up to growth. When we accept a growth mindset it opens numerous doors for success and happiness in our lives. So this is my growth mindset, acknowledging that I fail at blogging or posting recipes on a daily basis but I choose to put my focus on things I can do. Do you boo, boo.

The SUBTLE ART of WAFFLES

Let’s be honest, when you have WAFFLES there isn’t any room for negativity. Plus we all know WAFFLES are just PANCAKES with ABS. And if the saying is true you are what you eat…..then I AM ABS. ANDDD these Double Chocolate Chip Power Waffles are just what I need to help me POWER through the day and keep me fueled for my workout. I’m a big fan of Kodiak Power Cakes mix because of its carb:protein ratio and limited ingredients. The Siggi’s yogurt, is the new kid on the block, and is based on Icelandic yogurt promoting simple ingredients, low sugar with a high protein content. I also decided to add a half scoop of chocolate whey protein to increase the chocolate-y flavor all while making these waffles even more AB-tastic…..
____________

Ingredients:
53 grams Kodiak Cakes Mix
1/2 scoop (15g) Chocolate Whey Protein
1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
150 grams Siggi’s 0% Vanilla Yogurt
1 egg
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
15.0 grams Enjoy Life Dark Chocolate Morsels
______________

Directions:

  1. Combine dry ingredients in one bowl – Kodiak Cakes, protein powder, cinnamon, and baking soda and mix.
  2. Combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl – almond milk, yogurt, egg and whisk.

IMG_2377     3. Add dry to wet and mix thoroughly. Then add chocolate chips.

IMG_2378

IMG_2379

IMG_2380

4. Using a waffle maker (or you can make these into pancakes), keep cooking heat on low and cook it long so that the waffles can crisp up and cook all the way through.

IMG_2381

 

IMG_2372

Optional: Sprinkle extra Chocolate Chips on top because YOLO.

fullsizeoutput_15b8

Whole recipe makes 6 waffles (2 Waffles/person).
Per serving:
150 cal | 14.2g Protein | 19g Carbs | 4.5g Fat

Leave a comment